The Sports Daily > College Football Zealots
Welcome to the new Conference USA

In 2013, Conference USA will move from a twelve team conference to fourteen but it won't be doing it the easy way. Logical thought would have C-USA just add two teams but it's not quite that easy. The conference will lose Houston, Memphis, SMU and UCF and will add four teams from the Sun Belt and two from the WAC. Here is how the divisions compare from 2012 to 2013 (the asterisk denotes new teams to the conference in 2013):


2012 EAST 2013 EAST
East Carolina East Carolina
Marshall Marshall
Memphis Southern Miss
Southern Miss UAB
2012 WEST 2013 WEST
Houston Rice
Rice Tulane
SMU Tulsa
Tulane UTEP
Tulsa *Louisiana Tech
UTEP *North Texas

The league will also add Old Dominion in 2014 and Charlotte in 2015 as ECU and Tulane are slatted to leave the conference after this coming season for the Big East.