The Sports Daily > Firebrand AL
C.C. Sabathia nets AL Cy Young

In a vote I am sure many would like to redo with the playoffs involved, C.C. Sabathia edged out Josh Beckett to win the 2007 AL Cy Young award.
Sabathia went 19-7 with a 3.21 ERA in 241 innings, while Beckett went 20-7 with a 3.27 ERA in 200.2 innings pitched. Based on the regular season, Sabathia certainly was deserving of the award.
Of course, the choice is simple if you factor the playoffs in.
Sabathia received 19 of 28 first-place votes, and came in second on eight of the remaining nine. The ninth writer for some reason left Sabathia off his or her’s ballot entirely, which is baffling. Beckett got eight first-place votes and 86 points (33 behind Sabathia). Lackey ranked third with one first-place vote, and Fausto Carmona, Erik Bedard, Roy Halladay, Johan Santana and Justin Verlander rounded out the voting.
As two of the most exciting young pitchers of this generation, the world certainly looks forward to more years of C.C. and Josh.