The Sports Daily > MMA Manifesto
2013 Year In Review: Knockout of the Year

(Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports)

Another memorable year in mixed martial arts is in the books, so it's time for The MMA Manifesto to hand out its coveted year-end awards.  Next up: Knockout of the Year.

Voting panel: Jeff Fox from The MMA Manifesto Dave Kelsey – 2011 & 2013 MMA Manifesto Pick 'Em Contest Champion, speeds – Sports Two MMA Forumand Dan Vreeland from The MMA Manifesto.


Chris Weidman knocks out Anderson Silva
UFC 162

July 6, 2013

A half a year has passed (not to mention another victory over the Spider where he broke his leg) and these words are still unbelievable to type – Chris Weidman knocked out Anderson Silva!!  It really truly is unbelievable.  And now that his iron chin has been shattered, this, more than the broken leg, will be the biggest issue for Silva if he plans on continuing his combat sports career.


Others receiving votes:

Vitor Belfort spinning heel kick KO of Luke Rockhold – UFC on FX: Belfort vs Rockhold


Past Winners:

2012: Edson Barboza's spinning wheel kick of Terry Etim
2011: Lyoto Machida crane kicks Randy Couture into retirement

2010: Paul Daley KO's Scott Smith
2009: Lyoto Machida causing Rashad Evans to do the stanky leg


2013 Year in Review:

Submission of the Year


Next up: Fight of the Year