The Sports Daily > TFDS Sports
17 Raiders nominated for the Hall of Fame

The NFL announced its nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday. The Raiders are well represented on list of 131 names.

  • Eric Allen DB 98-01
  • Cliff Branch WR 72-85
  • Tim Brown WR * 88-03
  • Todd Christensen TE 79-88
  • Roger Craig RB 92-93
  • Tom Flores QB & Coach
  • Rich Gannon * QB 99-04
  • Ray Guy P 73-86
  • Lester Hayes DB 77-86
  • Jim Lachey OT 88-92
  • Albert Lewis DB 94-98
  • Rod Martin LB 77-88
  • Max Montoya OG 90-94
  • Jim Plunkett QB 79-86
  • Jerry Rice * WR 01-04
  • Pat Swilling LB/DE 95-96, 98
  • SteveWisinewski OG 89-01

* First time nominee

Whilst that is an impressive list, Ken Stabler is notable for its absense.The Snake is deserving of his slot in Canton, but has not been able to get in. His exclusion from the first round may be indicative that he will have to wait until he is eligable to be nominated by the senior committee.

The only name on this list that is guaranteed induction in the 2010 class is Jerry Rice who came to Oakland in the twilight of his career and had a productive stay.

It is notable that there are five players on this list who were teammates during the Gruden era.