The Sports Daily > The Brewers Bar
Grissom Falls Just 74.3% Shy of Induction

The Hall of Fame Class of 2011 was announced today, with Roberto Alomar and Bert Blyleven (finally) getting the nod. I was a part of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance voting, and as a group we came up with the same two, although my ballot was more inclusive.

There were four former Brewers on this year’s ballot, and unfortunately, none of them made it:

Dave Parker (1990) – 89 votes, 15.3%
Marquis Grissom (1998-2000) – 4 votes, 0.7%
B.J. Surhoff (1987-1995) – 2 votes, 0.3%
Lenny Harris (2002) – 0 votes, 0.0%

How could nobody vote for Lenny Harris?! Everyone says he’s the best pinch-hitter of all-time! Surely that deserves a courtesy vote or two. Sadly, the last three will be left off the BBWAA ballot for good now, since they didn’t secure at least 5% of the vote. At least you tried, the four guys who voted for Marquis.

Next year’s potential ballot looks more promising for the Brewers – Rick Helling, Eric Young, Mike Matheny, Jeromy Burnitz, and Ricky Bottalico are all eligible for the first time.