The Sports Daily > Total Titans
Michael Griffin named to Bloguin All-Pro team
Photo by Andrew Strickert for Total TitansIt’s been a much better season for Titans safety Michael Griffin than it was a year ago and people have been noticing. Griffin was selected to Bloguin’s inaugural All-Pro team, which was announced this morning. 
Bloguin is a network of citizen sports writers, as my good friend and colleague Anthony Brown says, who share a passion for blogging about the world of sports and their favorite teams. Griffin’s selection indicates he is regarded as the best free safety in the league by these passionate bloggers.
The selection process was not a popularity contest. It was highly competitive and many top stars did not receive votes.
I wrote the comment for Griffin’s selection:
“Has rebounded tremendously from a poor sophomore season and is showing once more the talent which made him a first-round draft pick.”

The other free safeties who received votes were Kerry Rhodes, Antrel Rolle, Malcolm Jenkins and Antoine Bethea.

Two other Titans who received votes at their positions were Jason Babin and Stephen Tulloch.

In related news, the NFL announced its Pro Bowl rosters this evening and named Titans Jason Babin and Marc Mariani to the AFC squad. Jeff Fisher reported on his radio show that several other Titans, whom he declined to name, had been selected as first alternates.
In an article I wrote four weeks ago, I opined seven Titans were deserving of Pro Bowl consideration. The seven players I thought were deserving of votes, though not necessarily deserving of being selected, are Chris Johnson, Michael Roos, David Stewart, Jason Jones, Griffin, Rob Bironas and Mariani.
Congrats to Griffin, Babin and Mariani for being recognized for their fine seasons.
In case you’re interested, my Bloguin All-Pro ballot was as follows.
QB Tom Brady
RB Arian Foster
FB Vonta Leach
WR Roddy White
WR Dwayne Bowe
TE Antonio Gates
LT Jake Long
LG Kris Dielman
C Nick Mangold
RG Jahri Evans
RT Damien Woody
LDE Robert Mathis
DT Haloti Ngata
DT Ndamakong Suh
RDE Trent Cole
LOLB Clay Matthews
ILB Lawrence Timmons
ROLB James Harrison
CB Nnamdi Asomugha
CB Charles Woodson
SS LaRon Landry
FS Michael Griffin
K Billy Cundiff
P Shane Lechler
KR Leon Washington
PR Devin Hester