Welcome back, Pavel Datsyuk

Welcome back, Pavel Datsyuk

zz Detroit 4 Lyfe

Welcome back, Pavel Datsyuk

By

Pavel Datsyuk returned to the ice on Tuesday night and probably should’ve scored a goal, a goal that would’ve lifted the Red Wings to a regulation win. Instead, they get a point by surviving ’til overtime.

Here’s what Winging It In Motown said about the game/play:

Detroit was basically robbed out of two points and a win in regulation due to a lame call on a beautiful goal by Pavel Datsyuk. You can say it was legit, you can say it was bogus. I’ll call it a lame call. Even without “interference,” Pavel still scores there.

Here’s probably why the refs called it, via Rule 69.3 (H/T @NickBarnowski):

69.3 Contact Inside the Goal Crease – If an attacking player initiates contact with a goalkeeper, incidental or otherwise, while the goalkeeper is in his goal crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.

If a goalkeeper, in the act of establishing his position within his goal crease, initiates contact with an attacking player who is in the goal crease, and this results in an impairment of the goalkeeper’s ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.

To me, it looks like Price initiates the contact with one skate in, one out of the crease (Abdelkader looks out) and the goal is scored in a location where Price is unimpeded had he not lunged into Abs. That’s upon replay review, though. For that decision — in my opinion, the right decision — to be called, Rule 69 would have to remove its last sentence under 69.1, which calls it exclusively a judgment call and does not allow for replay review.

Watch the video and you be the judge, Judy.

//platform.vine.co/static/scripts/embed.js

More Sports

1d

    1. Shakur Stevenson: The Olympic silver medalist is now a world champion in his second weight class, besting (…)

More sportsdaily