The Patriots, once again, were the recipients of a favorable call that few seemed to understand on Sunday, and the Jets got hosed by it.
It happened in the fourth quarter, when Austin Seferian-Jenkins caught a pass and fought his way toward the end zone. The Jets tight end carried two Patriots defenders into the end zone, and appeared to break the plane, so it was ruled a touchdown. But upon further review, officials ruled that he fumbled the football and then regained possession when he was out of bounds.
The result of that play was a touchback. You be the judge.
CBS Sports’ Jason LaCanfora certainly didn’t understand it.
I’m not even sure how they came up with that.