Drew Doughty Nominated for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Drew Doughty Nominated for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

L.A. Kings

Drew Doughty Nominated for King Clancy Memorial Trophy


The National Hockey League announced today the list of nominees for the 2017-18 King Clancy Memorial Trophy, and Drew Doughty of the LA Kings was nominated. The trophy is awarded “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

The nominees were selected by their respective NHL clubs. The winner will be selected by a committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly. The King Clancy Memorial Trophy winner will receive a $40,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of the winner’s choice and the two runners-up will each receive a $5,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice.

The three finalists for the 2017-18 King Clancy Memorial Trophy will be announced on Monday, April 30, and the winner will be revealed on Wednesday, June 20, during the 2018 NHL Awards™ presented by Hulu at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

The selection committee will apply the following criteria in determining the finalists and winner of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy:

– Investment of time and resources
– Commitment to a particular cause or community
– Creativity of programming
– Use of influence; engagement of others
– Measurement of impact

The NHL Foundation Player Award is being discontinued, and the associated NHL Foundation charitable donation will be provided through the King Clancy Memorial Trophy. From the NHL Foundation Player Award’s inception in 1998 through 2017, the National Hockey League and NHL Foundation have donated $500,000 to charities selected by the award’s recipients.

The 2017-18 King Clancy Memorial Trophy nominees are:

Anaheim Ducks: Ryan Getzlaf
Arizona Coyotes: Oliver Ekman-Larsson
Boston Bruins: Zdeno Chara
Buffalo Sabres: Zach Bogosian
Calgary Flames: Travis Hamonic
Carolina Hurricanes: Justin Faulk
Chicago Blackhawks: Duncan Keith
Colorado Avalanche: Gabriel Landeskog
Columbus Blue Jackets: Sergei Bobrovsky
Dallas Stars: Tyler Seguin
Detroit Red Wings: Justin Abdelkader
Edmonton Oilers: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
Florida Panthers: Mike Matheson
Los Angeles Kings: Drew Doughty
Minnesota Wild: Jason Zucker
Montreal Canadiens: Brendan Gallagher
Nashville Predators: P.K. Subban
New Jersey Devils: Cory Schneider
New York Islanders: Anders Lee
New York Rangers: Henrik Lundqvist
Ottawa Senators: Mark Borowiecki
Philadelphia Flyers: Shayne Gostisbehere
Pittsburgh Penguins: Matt Murray
San Jose Sharks: Chris Tierney
St. Louis Blues: Alex Pietrangelo
Tampa Bay Lightning: Ryan Callahan
Toronto Maple Leafs: Matt Martin
Vancouver Canucks: Daniel Sedin & Henrik Sedin
Vegas Golden Knights: Deryk Engelland
Washington Capitals: Brooks Orpik
Winnipeg Jets: Matt Hendricks

The trophy was presented in 1988 by the National Hockey League Board of Governors in honor of Frank “King” Clancy, a beloved figure in the NHL for decades as a player, referee, coach, manager and goodwill ambassador. A three-time Stanley Cup champion and 1958 inductee to the Hockey Hall of Fame, Clancy was voted as one of the 100 Greatest NHL Players during the League’s Centennial Celebration in 2017.

Announcement Schedule
The three finalists for NHL Trophies are being announced by NBC Sports in the United States and Sportsnet/TVA Sports in Canada during pregame programming for the Stanley Cup Playoffs through Monday, April 30. The series of announcements continues on Tuesday, April 24, when the three finalists for the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award will be unveiled.

More Sports

More L.A. Kings