Aric Almirola Wins Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 Pole

Aric Almirola Wins Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 Pole

Unexpected Pitstop

Aric Almirola Wins Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 Pole


On Friday the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series took to the track to qualify for this weekend’s Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 from Atlanta Motor Speedway. Before heading into practice it was Clint Bowyer who topped the opening practice of the day, but it was his teammate that took the pole.

There were also some tense moments for a couple of teams before qualifying got underway. The teams cars of B.J. McLeod and Matt Tift had their crew chiefs ejected prior to the start of qualifying after both cars failed pre-qualifying inspection multiple times. Bowyer backed up his practice time by being the fastest on the track after the first round of qualifying. Bowyer was joined on the top of the speed chart by teammate Aric Almirola.

While Bowyer and Almirola found success in the first round, others struggled. Joey Logano wasn’t able to crack the top-24 after a rough first lap and a second lap that wasn’t much better. Ryan Preece also had some bad luck as he broke into the top-24 at the end of the first round but his time wasn’t allowed because he didn’t start the lap until after the clock hit triple zeros. The second round was again dominated by Clint Bowyer, with Ryan Newman just missing the cut. Kevin Harvick and Chase Elliott were a couple of drivers who didn’t have the speed that some might have thought.

The final round of qualifying it was Almirola who was able to top Bowyer.

Atlanta Unofficial Qualifying Results

  1. Aric Almirola
  2. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  3. Clint Bowyer
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Daniel Suarez
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Kyle Larson
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Austin Dillon
  11. Jimmie Johnson
  12. Michael McDowell
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Paul Menard
  15. Erik Jones
  16. Alex Bowman
  17. William Byron
  18. Kevin Harvick
  19. Brad Keselowski
  20. Matt DiBenedetto
  21. Ty Dillon
  22. Chase Elliott
  23. David Ragan
  24. Corey LaJoie
  25. Ryan Preece
  26. Ryan Blaney
  27. Joey Logano
  28. Daniel Hemric
  29. Bubba Wallace
  30. Chris Buescher
  31. Matt Tift
  32. Ross Chastain
  33. Landon Cassill
  34. Parker Kligerman
  35. Garrett Smithley
  36. Cody Ware
  37. B.J. McLeod

More Sports


With a 6-3 loss to the Braves, the Mets now stare the trade deadline directly in the face. The cards have all been dealt, the flop is out, (…)

More Unexpected Pitstop