UFC 140 Fighter Salaries

tito ortiz

Is it any wonder why Tito Ortiz still wants to have at least one more fight in the UFC?  When you are pulling in a record $450,000 guaranteed every time you step into the Octagon, you don’t mind taking a few body shots from the likes of Antonio Rogerio Nogueira.  But Ortiz wasn’t the only one pulling in the dough on Saturday night – in fact, the event’s top five earners (Ortiz, Frank Mir, Lyoto Machida, Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira and Jon Jones) are all among the top 10 earners in 2011.

Before we go any further, we should note that Ontario’s Athletic Commission doesn’t release fighter pay info, so none of the following salary data for the event is official.  However, you can get a fairly accurate picture of a fighter’s pay based on official purse info released from past fights.  So, based on that info, here is the estimated pay breakdown for the 24 fighters that traded blows at the event (but please remember – this is only an estimate, not official info, especially for any fighters that made their UFC debuts at the event).  These numbers obviously also don’t include any PPV revenue, undisclosed bonuses and/or sponsorship money any of these fighters may have made.


Jon Jones: $475,000 ($400,000 to show, $75,000 Fight of the Night bonus)

Tito Ortiz: $450,000

Frank Mir: $395,000 ($160,000 to show, $160,000 win bonus, $75,000 Submission of the Night bonus)

Lyoto Machida: $275,000 ($200,000 to show, $75,000 Fight of the Night bonus)

Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira: $250,000

Antonio Rogerio Nogueira: $140,000 ($90,000 to show, $50,000 win bonus)

Chan Sung Jung:  $97,000 ($11,000 to show, $11,000 win bonus, $75,000 Knockout of the Night bonus)

Dennis Hallman: $30,000 ($15,000 to show, $15,000 win bonus)

Mark Bocek: $30,000 ($15,000 to show, $15,000 win bonus)

Igor Pokrajac: $24,000 ($12,000 to show, $12,000 win bonus)

Nik Lentz: $17,000

Yves Jabouin: $16,000 ($8,000 to show, $8,000 win bonus)

Constantinos Philippou: $16,000 ($8,000 to show, $8,000 win bonus)

Brian Ebersole: $12,000 ($6,000 to show, $6,000 win bonus)

Krzysztof Soszynski: $12,000

Jared Hamman: $12,000

John Makdessi: $12,000

Jake Hecht: $8,000 ($4,000 to show, $4,000 win bonus)

Rich Attonito: $8,000

John Cholish: $8,000 ($4,000 to show, $4,000 win bonus)

Claude Patrick: $6,000

Mark Hominick: $6,000

Walel Watson: $4,000

Mitch Clarke: $4,000