NASCAR Truck Series Buckle Up South Carolina 200: Qualifying, Nicholas Sanchez’s Throwback Pole Position, Lineup At Darlington Raceway

cory heim truck series at COTA (1)

In throwback fashion, Nicholas Sanchez beat the field and the heavy afternoon rain showers.

The NASCAR Truck Series driver qualified for the pole position for Friday night’s delayed Buckle Up South Carolina 200 At Darlington Raceway. Sanchez turned an afternoon hot lap of 167.905 mph, edging series points leader Corey Heim by 0.148 seconds.

Credited with his seventh career pole and second this season, Sanchez, who ranked third in the points standings seeks to cut into his 49-point deficit. Christian Eckes, who ranked second, qualified P7 at the 1.366-mile oval.

Rain later washed out the Xfinity Series’ qualifying session and delayed the start of the national series’ weekend opener by over two hours.

Nicholas Sanchez’s Team Honors Diversity Program

Sanchez was slated to pilot a throwback look. Celebrating the 20th anniversary of NASCAR’s Drive for Diversity Program, the No. 2 Chevrolet was scheduled to feature a red and black color scheme for Friday night’s race.

A program alum along with Bubba Wallace and Daniel Suarez, Sanchez secured Rev Racing’s first national series victory at Daytona International Speedway last February.

“It’s a really cool scheme honoring the diversity program,” Sanchez said, as reported by “Big thanks to Gainbridge for allowing us to run it and honor Rev Racing and the Drive for Diversity Program for everything they’ve done over the past 20 years. It’s a big anniversary and a big year for them, so to honor them is really awesome.

“I hope that in the next 20 years, the program will keep introducing drivers to the sport and give people an opportunity to drive in NASCAR.”

Starting Lineup for NASCAR Truck Series’ Buckle Up South Carolina 200

Here is a look at the lineup for Friday night’s NASCAR Truck Series’ Buckle Up South Carolina 200 at Darlington Raceway:

Starting Position, Driver, Car No., Team

  • 1, Nicholas Sanchez, 2, Rev Racing
  • 2, Corey Heim, 11, TRICON Garage
  • 3, Taylor Gray, 17, TRICON Garage
  • 4, Kyle Busch, 7, Spire Motorsports
  • 5, Tanner Gray, 15, TRICON Garage
  • 6, Ross Chastain, 45, Niece Motorsports
  • 7, Christian Eckes, 19, McAnally Hilgemann Racing
  • 8, Layne Riggs, 38, Front Row Motorsports
  • 9, Grant Enfinger, 9, CR7 Motorsports
  • 10, Daniel Dye, 43, McAnally Hilgemann Racing
  • 11, Stewart Friesen, 52, Halmar Friesen Racing
  • 12, Ben Rhodes, 99, ThorSport Racing
  • 13, Dean Thompson, 5, TRICON Garage
  • 14, Jake Garcia, 13, ThorSport Racing
  • 15, Ty Dillon, 25, Rackley W.A.R.
  • 16, Ty Majeski, 98, ThorSport Racing
  • 17, Bayley Currey, 41, Niece Motorsports
  • 18, Colby Howard, 1, TRICON Garage
  • 19, Chase Purdy, 77, Spire Motorsports
  • 20, Matt Crafton, 88, ThorSport Racing
  • 21, Conner Jones, 66, ThorSport Racing
  • 22, Lawless Alan, 33, Reaume Brothers Racing
  • 23, Jack Wood, 91, McAnally Hilgemann Racing
  • 24, Tyler Ankrum, 18, McAnally Hilgemann Racing
  • 25, Matt Mills, 42, Niece Motorsports
  • 26, Rajah Caruth, 71, Spire Motorsports
  • 27, Timmy Hill, 56, Hill Motorsports
  • 28, Bret Holmes, 32, Bret Holmes Racing
  • 29, Mason Massey, 02, Young Motorsports
  • 30, Spencer Boyd, 76, Freedom Racing Enterprises
  • 31, Mason Maggio, 22, Reaume Brothers Racing
  • 32, Thad Moffitt, 46, Faction Motorsports

Arrow to top